It was 50 years ago today ("Getting Better")

Published on by Wandique

A simplicidade dessas guitarras em stacatto fazem uma base para música, um "drone" como dizem. Imagino que intencionalmente eles quebram o clima delirante de "Lucy in the sky with diamonds" e nos trazem de volta à terra firme com essa letra confessional do John: já fui um canalha mas estou me emendando agora, as coisas estão melhorando. Na famosa entrevista que o John deu à revista Playboy em 1980 ele confirmou o que havia dito em "Getting Better" : "eu costumava ser cruel com minha mulher e, físicamente, com qualquer mulher. Eu era um espancador. Eu não conseguia me expressar e batia". E depois dizem que a música dos Beatles era ingênua ...

 

It's getting better all the time
I used to get mad at my school
The teacher's that taught me weren't cool
You're holding me down
Filling me up with your rules

I've got to admit it's getting better
A little better all the time
I have to admit it's getting better
It's getting better since you've been mine

Me used to be angry young man
Me hiding me head in the sand
You gave me the word
I finally heard
I'm doing the best that I can
I've got to admit it's getting better

I used to be cruel to my woman
I beat her and kept apart from the things that she loved
Man I was mean but I'm changing my scene
And I'm doing the best that I can

It was 50 years ago today ("Getting Better")

Published on The Beatles

Comment on this post